, , , , , , ,

Hard Working Americans
Released: January 21, 2014

1. Blackland Farmer
2. Another Train
3. Down To The Well
4. The Mountain Song
5. Stomp And Holler
6. Straight To Hell
7. Welfare Music
8. Mr. President Have Pity On The Working Man
9. Run A Mile
10. I Don’t Have A Gun
11. Wrecking Ball

Todd Snider (vocals), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Chad Staehly (keyboards), Dave Schools (bass), Duane Trucks (drums)


Little Johnny caught a bullet last night running from the guitar store
He took a left down the alley, guess he should’ve gone right, now he ain’t taken nothing no more, no more
Everybody knows it’s a hard time livin’ with hate and the greed
Most folks earn what they get for a livin’, others steal what they need
Down on the corner, already talkin’, how they’re gonna cut that take
I’m out here just workin’ for a dollar, all I wanna do is stomp and holler

Eighteen years, eighteen years, that’s a long-old time to be
Sittin’ face down, stoned in the alley, wonderin’ how to get to that shinin’ sea
Everybody knows it’s a hard time livin’ on the minimum wage
Some people just gonna sneak on through, others gotta rattle that cage
One of these days I’m gonna find my way or else I’m gonna disappear
I’m out here in the filth and squalor, all I wanna do is stomp and holler

Rock and roll, ache and moan, listen to the young girls scream
Every time I get a little bit lucky I gotta wake up from a poor man’s dream
Heaven only knows how we get there after all this trouble and strife
From all I’ve seen, you only get one shot at what your’e gonna do in this life
Ah, what the hell, I guess I might as well take a chance and try my way
I’m like James Brown, only white and taller, all I wanna do is stomp and holler

(2011, Hayes Carll)