Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


STEELEYE SPAN
Wintersmith
Released: October 28, 2013

1. Ouverture: Ancient Eyes & The Dark Morris Tune
2. The Dark Morris Song
3. Wintersmith
4. You
5. The Good Witch
6. Band Of Teachers
7. The Wee Free Men
8. Hiver
9. Fire & Ice
10. The Making Of A Man
11. Crown & Ice
12. First Dance
13. The Dark Morris Tune
14. The Summer Lady
15. Ancient Eyes
16. We Shall Wear Midnight

Maddy Prior (vocals), Peter Knight (violin, piano, vocals), Rick Kemp (bass, vocals), Julian Littman (vocals, guitar, piano), Pete Zorn (guitar, sax, vocals), Liam Genockey (drums)

***

Ever since we danced in the dark parade
Something old was born anew
In spite of all the good things your good God has made
Everything I touch turns into you
Everything I touch turns into you

Ever since my eyes perceived your face
There was little doubt that I could do
Anything to save my fall from grace
Now everything I see turns into you
Everything I see turns into you

And ever since my ears received your cold clear voice
Singing silver lines so soft and true
My destiny was written, I had no choice
Now everything I hear turns into you
Everything I hear turns into you

Each snowflake that falls achieves your subtle form
The howling wind calls your name in the storm
The frost on the ground that turns into dew
Each sight and each sound turns into you

A statue of your likeness floats through my dreams
Carved in ice and glacial blue
You’re in my heart forever or so it seems
Now everything I dream turns into you
Everything I touch turns into you
Everything I am turns into you

(2013, Julian Littman – Steeleye Span – Terry Pratchett)